Source

I went through a braid phase between the ages of 4 and 6.  I had to wear a braid every.single.day.  French braids, pigtail braids, or one big braid…it didn’t matter, I just needed the plaits in my hair.

Well, I’ve fallen back in love with braids, especially in the last year or so.  I’ve been enjoying long hair (past the middle of my back) before the inevitable chop when it comes time to re-enter the workforce after school. My hair is super thick and layered…often a ponytail, or even a high bun, puts strain on my head.

The solution has been an assortment of braids to keep the hair out of my face and in one place, and when I have to do things like walk the pup or go grocery shopping, braided hair helps me look put together (even if I have not an ounce of makeup up on besides lip gloss).

I think this is one the best tutorials I’ve seen for achieving the ubiquitous french braid across the head.  Her tip about tucking hair under, instead of over the other pieces (as you would for a traditional braid) is something it took me ages to figure out. This is a great, easy look for running errands, Sunday brunch, or casual evenings.

(Haven’t quite figured out how to embed youtube videos here, so for now, this blog link will have to do):

http://www.sugarlaws.com/tutorial-favorite-braid

